Posted in Fantasy, Scifi

Someday I’ll Be Redeemed

Title: Someday I’ll Be Redeemed
Author: Kelly Blachard
Blurb: Everyone thinks him to be dead–or guilty. Without a word or sighting of Prince Lorrek of Cuskelom these last ten years, all believe the rumors of his crimes, which he is said to have committed, are true. However, when he finally returns to clear his name, Lorrek realizes the only way to find redemption is to become the very man they think him to be in this time when advanced technology challenges ancient magic to war.

 

I went into ‘Someday I’ll Be Redeemed’ with the vaguest knowledge that there would be fantasy and  science fiction. I was a little wary, I’ve read and watched things with a mix-match and hadn’t been impressed. My standards have since skyrocketed. Kelly Blanchard managed to do what not much else has accomplished: she’s taken fantasy and science fiction and put them together and she’s done it uniquely.

The pace of this book was fast. From the second Lorrek sets foot onto Nirrorm’s icy ground, to the end, where he is within King Roskelem’s clutches in Serhon. Usually I’m not one for flashbacks, but the ones in SIBR are tasteful and really flesh out the things hinted about throughout the rest of the story.

In the beginning you are left asking many questions, and you get answers—but not to everything. Many things are still swathed in secrecy and half-truths. As this is only the beginning of a series, I’m content with that.

Kelly has also managed to make an amazing cast of real, likeable, hateable, breathing characters that might as well jump off the page. From Lorrek, to Theran, to Heldon, and Honroth. Even Atheta, who you only hear about at first and meet much later, is a real character who you empathize with and get attached to. (By far, she was my favorite.)

If you’re looking for a fantasy or a scifi book, I recommend ‘Someday I’ll Be Redeemed’. It has the best of both worlds.

 


Livetweets:

Day One

Day Two

Day Three

Day Four

Day Five

Day Six

Day Seven

Day Eight


Stay tuned for November 6th, 2016 when I livetweet the book Bearly Awake by D. R. Perry

My twitter: Weighing_Atlas

Leave a Reply

